Information for coyote hunting in Nevada can be found by searching the Nevada Department of Wildlife’s website.
Coyotes are an unprotected species in Nevada. They can be hunted by both resident and non-residents without a hunting license.
Season Dates and Bag Limits
Coyotes don’t have a season in Nevada, they may be hunted year round. Also, there are no limits on how many coyotes you can take.
It is unlawful to carry a loaded firearm (round in the chamber) in or on any vehicle in Nevada. However, you may carry a firearm in a vehicle with cartridges or shells in the magazine.
You can hunt coyotes at night, but only in certain counties. Here are some Nevada County Ordinances on Hunting at Night
This list of state and county laws is only a partial list of the laws on firearms and the discharge of firearms in the state of Nevada. Each hunter is responsible to know the laws of the state and those of the county where one is hunting. Please contact NDOW for more state regulations and the County sheriff’s Department for county laws for the areas you will be hunting.
- Washoe County – Nighttime shooting and spotlight hunting prohibited
- Pershing County – Spotlight hunting prohibited within 300 feet. It is unlawful for any person to cast a spotlight from or within three hundred feet (300′) of any motor vehicle in the unincorporated areas of the County while having a firearm in possession or immediate physical presence, between the dates of September 1 and February 28, inclusive, of each year.
- White Pine County – Nighttime shooting prohibited
- Lander County – Nighttime shooting prohibited
- Nye County Code – 3 miles from Tonopah. Any person who discharges any firearm within a radius of three (3) miles from the County Courthouse in Tonopah shall be guilty of a misdemeanor.
- Elko County – Nighttime shooting prohibited
- Douglas County – Within 1,500 feet of a dwelling. It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge any rifle withing 1,500 feet and any shotguns or air rifles within 500 feet of any occupied dwelling without the permission of the occupant.
Nevada Counties That ALLOW Shooting or Spotlighting at Night
- Churchill County
- Lyon County (see ordinance on congested areas)
- Humbodlt County
- Douglas County (Not within 500 feet for a shotgun and 1,500 feet for a rifle of an occupied dwelling)
- Mineral County
- Nye County (At least 3 miles from Tonopah)
- Esmeralda County (must be at least one mile away from an occupied residence)
- Carson City County ( see ordinance on firearms)
- Storey County (see ordinance on weapons)
- Clark County (see ordinance on congested areas)
- Lincoln County (see ordinance on congested areas)
You do not need a license in order to transport coyotes or export coyotes from Nevada.
If you are selling the fur you will need a trapping license.